What's looking good in August 2016

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
USDA Zone 11
Country
Mexico
In the gentle rain and cloudy skies of August, this new tropical hibiscus is blooming and patiently awaiting transplant to more spacious accommodations. I call this the sunrise/sunset hibiscus because of the colors. It is having to provide those colors this gray day.

P1020292.JPG

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
USDA Zone 11
Country
Mexico
Very nice @Beth_B (i like your pond too!). Lovely color that Buddleia, the butterflies are so crazy about this plant for nectar. I tried to grow it a couple of times here. They don't do too well in zone 11. There are so many plants called "butterfly bushes", i had to look at the photo to see which one you have.:)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
This is my first year with buddleia actually (planted three bushes) and I've yet to see a single butterfly on them! They are pretty little bushes but I hope to see more butterflies.

Took a couple of years for leopard frogs to find my little pond and thank you.:) There's a few goldfish in there, and I dug a deep well so fish and frogs would survive winter below the frost line.

JBtheExplorer

Native Gardener
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Purple Prairie Clover looks good, even if I only have one flower on it this year. Looks even better with Orange Milkweed and Lanceleaf Tickseed in the background.
IMG_1267 copy.jpg

Blanket Flower begins it's third month of blooming. These may bloom well into October depending on the weather.
IMG_1270 copy.jpg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
I think the Blanket flowers look adorable. I wouldn't mind having a few of those around. I saw a sunflower at the store the other day that was simply gorgeous, if it is there when I go down there again, I will pick it up. I have tried to grow sunflower from seeds,,sadly they never seem to take. They can be a beautiful plant.

Reaction score