What to plant in these spaces?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5a/4b (Canadian Zone)
Country
Canada
Hey folks, I have a row of blue muffin viburnum along a fence line. This is my first year in the property. I want to fill in the gaps between them to increase my privacy. I was thinking about filling in the spaces (about 8 to 10 feet b/w each plant) with something like white cedars/emerald cedars or perhaps some firs or spruce trees that are on the smaller side, like pyramidal Norway spruce or Korean Firs,etc.. What about some other "filler"? What would work with this type of shrub in terms of creating a nice composition and also providing the screening I desire? I want to keep the screen to under 25' and preferably under 20 feet.

Thank you kindly in advance!

IMAG0990_zps4cfsk5pz.jpg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5A
Country
United States
How is the ground? Is it very wet back there on the fence? If it is I might go for some Dogwoods, the reds look nice all year around, alternate some of the yellows and it will fill in very natural and colorful in no time. If it is not to wet but pretty full sun you might want to consider some Lilacs. I found that when you do a grove of the lilacs alternate the varieties to prolong the blooms. I have both the heirloom and the french and they go well into late May.

I added peonies a few years ago to some of the fronts of the lilacs that just formed natural coves, I know the peonies bring ants but so far that has not been much of a problem.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5a/4b (Canadian Zone)
Country
Canada