What kind of Cedar is this?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Maybe I spoke too soon, since I'm not even sure it's a Cedar. I've been admiring these for a few years as they've grown bigger at the hardware store. I've seen them around town too, but no one I talked to knows what they are. Even the nursery's people didn't know and their expert's never there when I stop by. The closest I found so far is a Hogan Cedar, but I'm not no sure that's right. I took a few photos just around or before spring, sorry for the color variations. I tried to lighten it because some were dark. Could anyone help me find out the name or know anything about it,.. any ideas? Thank you either way and have a great day everybody!!

Attachments

• IMG_9888.JPG
    IMG_9888.JPG
    227.8 KB · Views: 31
  • IMG_9886.JPG
    IMG_9886.JPG
    373.9 KB · Views: 39
  • IMG_9884.JPG
    IMG_9884.JPG
    349.4 KB · Views: 30
  • IMG_9882 (2).JPG
    IMG_9882 (2).JPG
    411.8 KB · Views: 29
  • IMG_9885.JPG
    IMG_9885.JPG
    310.9 KB · Views: 25
  • IMG_9883 (2).JPG
    IMG_9883 (2).JPG
    396.2 KB · Views: 31
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Cupressocyparis castlewellan springs to mind - the LLeylandii that is very fast growing and can cause nightmares here for people who's neighbours plant them for hedging and leave them to grow - shading out other gardens.

I may well be totally wrong, but these can be cut to form all sorts of weird shapes, like the ones in your first picture.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Its not a Leylandii well it doesn't look like one to me which I can usually spot a mile off .

They look like the Thuja family which one I not sure but I'd start with one of the Plicata varieties . Crush the leaves is a good hint if its is one of the Thuja plicata / others , they reminded me of strawberry milkshake others say pineapple smell

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom