What does your Armageddon garden look like?

DrMike27

Trust me...I’m a doctor.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Seeing as though COVID-19 is really changing the world around us, and even seeing the small disruptions to the supply chain it caused, I want to know what *you* would grow in your garden if you HAD to rely on it for food?

I would most likely base my garden around beans--contain proteins, easy-ish to grow, and you can dry/store them for quite some time.

What about you all?

Meadowlark

No N-P-K Required
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
old zone 8b/new zone 9a
Country
United States
Interesting question...but my answer would be not very different, if at all, from what I grow today. Buying store bought onions is barely better than doing without. Same for beans, same for potatoes, same for corn, same for etc. etc. We already grow a very high % of our veggie staples in our garden.

One thing I haven't tried to grow in the garden that might be necessary in a supply interruption would be small grains wheat , oats, and corn for corn meal.

I think I would lean towards barter, i.e. trade some of my excess for the grains or whatever else we might need....but barter might be difficult depending on the cause of the interruption.

Interesting topic which deserves more thought.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
I like purple hull peas and would do lots of them. They can be eaten green like a green bean, even the leaves are edible like greens. I can freeze them and have had good results freezing them raw without blanching. Not a hybrid so some seed can be saved for next crop. They are delicious, productive, pest free, and grow all summer long in our relentless heat. I’d likely add some pole type bean in there too, but not sure which one yet.