What do you/did you do to earn your daily wage?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5A
Country
Canada
We have such a diverse crowd here that I was just wondering what everyone does, or did if retired now, to earn their daily bread.

I used to be a credit manager in the steel industry and a dozen or so years ago studied soft home furnishings (draperies and other home decor) and started my own little business.

How about you?

zigs

Cactus Grower, Kent.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
Past 20 odd years i've been an Historic Buildings Conservator, working on many different buildings, churches, monuments etc.

This is a 18th century Granary before...

And after the Zigs got hold of it.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
Head custodian for a Long Island school dist. Before that I worked for KLM airlines, which I absolutely loved. Plan on retiring next year if the numbers work out.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
4b
Country
United States
Funny, I book gigs for the band my husband plays in, and I've heard that "I won't go on the road again" so many times :LOL:
It's hard to explain being on the road. It's just sometimes I'd rather be doing something else. (like gardening) And sometimes it feels like it's never going to end. Other times it just doesn't bother me. It's just a job sort of thing. :unsure:

btw- I graduated from a high school on Long Island.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United States
I had several careers before retiring. First I taught high school, then I decided I'd rather restore antiques. After we moved I edited a local newspaper, then became a children's librarian. Of all the jobs, the librarian was the best. They actually PAID me to play with children, introduce them to the classic children's books, and see their minds expand. Wonderful!
Now I'm retired and garden and keep hens. I also help my husband the beekeeper with his hives.

Reaction score