What’s this in my lawn? Tall fescue vs quackgrass vs crabgrass vs...???

LGY

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi,

I am new to lawn care (Near Sacramento area) and when we moved in around Jan we thought we had crabgrass in the lawn and I have been diligently removing them every 3-4 days and cut the lawn once a week and keep it short.

My husband told me those were crabgrass.
Our lawn is tall fescue bluegrass delta 90/10.

I noticed these has been now growing shorter and thinner making it harder to catch/pull. I researched online and to my horror that tall fescue looks close to crab/quack grass and I could not tell the differences (plus mine don’t look like having a red spot in the center like the online pictures, and it’s not June... making myself doubting my husband initial response)

I guess my questions are:
1) what's this In my lawn
2) how to get rid of them (if I need to) now?
3) anything I should look out for next year as precautionary step?

thanks in advance.

423CCAF3-E23B-4188-8012-DB9E53DA4E51.jpeg

Attachments

• 26849D58-5D24-4A66-9415-4BE5D3004D8B.jpeg
    26849D58-5D24-4A66-9415-4BE5D3004D8B.jpeg
    87.6 KB · Views: 183
  • BF0F88E4-4D59-4351-9E8D-3680FE6F1D3C.jpeg
    BF0F88E4-4D59-4351-9E8D-3680FE6F1D3C.jpeg
    75.9 KB · Views: 150
Reaction score
Country
United States
If you mow often and use the grass catcher you can get the weeds before they go to seed. That will help you next year as well as this year. Time weeding efforts not by how large the weeds are getting, but by observing their development. No matter how small a weed may be, if you are seeing flowers, your time is running out. Seeds are already starting to form in those flowers.

Be aware of weed growth flushes in your area. In California there are two main ones, fall and spring. If you let the fall weeds go, the resulting dropped seed will increase the number of weeds to deal with in spring.

LGY

Reaction score
Country
United States
Thanks oneeye.