Weather station

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
Does anyone here use weather stations? We frequently get storms in the area and can have a downpour on one side of the street and dry on the other. Id like a weather station to track the amount of rain I'm getting (as well as temp, wind, etc). I'm a pilot, so by nature a bit of a weather enthusiast as well. Since I am in a borderline zone, I think it would also be helpful to have a temp probe I can place a few inches into the ground and track soil temp during the winter (So I know if my banana corms are in danger).

What do you use? I was looking at the accurate systems and hoping for something below $200.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
USDA 10a - Sunset 22
Country
United States
I have a couple I use. I have one in the green house and another outside. I too am a weather enthusiast, but overall the weather is pretty boring here.

I have an Accurite that will record your daily highs and lows and you can export to excel. Not much rain here so I don't pay much attention to the rain gauge portion. Wind either. I bought it at the swap meet for $20. I also have a couple of the smaller ones.

I do use both of them to understand general conditions. With the outside gauge... if it says X +/- 5 I know it's a doors and vents open day for the greenhouse. If it says Y +/- 5 then it's it's a doors and vents open, fan on in the green house.

I use one inside the greenhouse to understand the daily highs and lows as they important to seed germination. In summer I also look at it to see how much the misting bursts cool the shade house.

I have thought about posting to web thing or using the app to check with the Accurite but in reality I'm too busy with the gardening to get to deep into it.

I've also looked at the more $$$ ones from other brands and thought about being a reporting weather station, but again, gardening takes up most of the time and we have mild, predictable weather here.