Viburnum instructions please.

Colin

Retired.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Six Viburnum Tinis shrubs have just arrived and I'm wondering how best to treat these please. They are from J Parker's and come with basic instructions; frost is due tonight and they must be kept in a cool humid place free from severe frost; placing them in a greenhouse or covering with polythene to over-winter them will cause them harm?

Not only is frost forecast for tonight but all day today we've been subjected to high wind and driving rain which seldom lets up here on the steep exposed valley side. Perhaps I've chosen the worst time to buy these Viburnum but now I have them would potting them into bigger pots then placing them on our patio shielded by the bungalow or against the garden hut out of full blast of the wind help them. I'm new to all this gardening but I'm keen to learn and as a novice I've enclosed pictures of what to expect when ordering plants online for the first time.

These Viburnum are tall and slender supported by a stick in each pot so are vulnerable; they are in good condition and I'm thus far very pleased with J Parkers this being my second delivery from them; included are free 40 mixed Daffodil and Narcissi.

I've got plenty of new plastic pots and a couple of big bags of general purpose potting compost; I can't do anything with them today due to the dire weather other than leave them inside our rear cool extension to protect them; as I say I'm learning and I'll only ever learn from my mistakes so any advice or information is most welcome. (y)

It makes a change for me to be posting a gardening topic. :)

Kind regards, Colin.

DSC00103.JPG
DSC00104.JPG
DSC00105.JPG

Colin

Retired.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Many thanks for your excellent and informative reply Owdboggy;much appreciated. (y):)