Venus flytrap trouble

Reaction score
Country
Canada
I was recently gifted a Venus flytrap, and while I’ve done some reading and research on how best to care for it, I’m still a bit trepidatious. The plant itself isn’t more than 1 1/2 inches high, but is approximately 5 inches wide, while looking directly down at it. Some of the leaves have a bit of a wave to them, and almost seem to be curling in on themselves, which I am concerned about. The traps themselves are perhaps slightly less than 1 inch, and there are 7 open, with two more on the way. Most of them are not red inside like I’ve read they should be, and I have not tried to feed it. I unfortunately can’t give it any more direct sunlight than it currently gets, which is approximately 7-8 hours each day. I’ve been keeping the soil damp, and the 2 x 2 1/2 inch pot it is in has drainage.

I’m open to and eager for any advice anyone may have, as I am completely new to this type of plant. It was in a slightly poor condition when I received it, and although it has improved, I’m sure there’s more I could be doing. I also recently had to change my water supply, and now must resort to some type of bottled water; this is quite specific, but would anyone happen to know if the “Glaceau Smart Water” would be sufficient? It is a vapour distilled water, but has added electrolytes (the ingredients are vapour distilled water, calcium chloride, magnesium chloride, potassium bicarbonate, and ozone). If this would be harmful to the plant, I will absolutely find an alternative.

Apologies for the long post, but I’m a bit out of my wheelhouse on this one. Again, any advice anyone may have would be much appreciated.

All the best,
Hart

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
One thing I do remember is no hard tap water. They said 'rainwater best, distilled water next best and you might get away with soft water'. I don't know if that helps, but it doesn't sound to me as though the electrolytes are a good idea.

Reaction score
Country