Vegetable/herb seedlings

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm a newbie. Just learning to plant my own herbs/vegetables. I'm just wondering why my zucchini seedlings are turning the color they do. And is my basil plants ok to be planted the way I did. With many in the pot. I started then in small pots indoors under a grow light, then eventually put them outdoors so I can start new vegetable for later

Reaction score
Country
United States
20211105_163654.jpg

Zucchini

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Looks like mildew on the zucchini, things like squashes, pumpkin, cucumber and courgette seem to be very prone to it. No doubt someone here can advise you about it, I don't worry myself, it doesn't seem to worry the plant too much, maybe I would take off those leaves, the rest of the plant looks lovely and healthy.
The basil certainly wants a bit more room, hold them by the leaf part and gently tease the plants apart to plant them separately, don't do it by the stem if you can help it, plants only have one stem, irreplaceable, they can grow new leaves if inexperience damages them a bit. Winter is just starting here, but I guess there are parts of the US where the growing season is year round, if it is possible try planting the basil in different places, in the ground, in a greenhouse, in pots indoors in different positions, it's a good way of discovering what works for you.
Tip with home grown basil, my missus always washes everything, but basil loses a bit of flavour when you wash it. Pick out some nice fresh leaves and use them straight from the plant when it's ready. With tomato and a bit of balsamic vinegar it can be stunning.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States