Veg garden planning help?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, im a newbie so bare with me!!
Last year i discovered a love for growing my own and have decided to make a part of my garden a veg patch/kitchen garden. I have designed it all with a greenhouse and a water feature for wildlife but am struggling on what paths to use. I originally wanted a red brick path with raised beds but am seeing a lot of bark and shingle being used. Is there a reason for this (slugs maybe) and what pathways would you recommend. Many thanks x

Reaction score
Country
France
I am new also but can still welcome you GardenEscape, depends what kind of look/feel you want as we all have different ideas and needs. Here where I reside in Deux Serves Region of France, my garden was farmland so is rough grass but still pleasant, as we keep it under control with a tractor mower...Our veggie patch is like this, right at the moment...as you can see rustic very rustic and fenced off to keep chickens out,,,We have planks of wood we use to move about when planting up and so no path as such... a very portable system.. :)
Photo last of the Veggie Patch
thumbnail_004.jpg

Unlike above which is pretty nice.....the pond has 1 huge orange gold fish it and his name is Lonesome...:)
036.JPG

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
''Lonesome'' reminds me of when I had a small nursery. I had a fairly large glut of little pine trees that nobody seemed to want, so I put them all away apart from one and stuck a label on it with ''Lonesome Pine''
All the little trees found a home within a week :giggle:

Reaction score
Country
France
''Lonesome'' reminds me of when I had a small nursery. I had a fairly large glut of little pine trees that nobody seemed to want, so I put them all away apart from one and stuck a label on it with ''Lonesome Pine''
All the little trees found a home within a week :giggle:
That is a lovely story..well Lonesome was purchased along with two other baby goldfish