use of miracid or miracle grow

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi; Can anyone tell me:
1. How often can I use miracid on myrtle?
2. Does a mugo pine use miracid or miracle grow?
3. Which one do I use on Hosta?
Thanks for your help. mrdibs

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5A
Country
Canada
Welcome to the forum!

I am not an expert on commercial fertilizers. I do use miracle gro kn some of my ornamental plants.

I'm sure someone here will be able to help.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Long term use of Miracle Gro products or any other chemical fertilizers are detrimental to the soil as they will all leave deposits of mineral salts. These salts build up and destroy the microbial life that fertile soil must have in order for the plant to uptake natural nutrients. Mother nature feeds the soil, not the plant. By using chemicals you are feeding the plant not the soil and over time it will catch up with you. I am extremely biased against chemical fertilizers as I am a totally organic gardener but let me ask this. If these chemical fertilizers are so great why do they all come with warnings of some kind? Have you ever heard of worn out soil or farmland? How can dirt wear out and productive plants be unable to grow? If you guessed using chemical fertilizers you would be correct. There are all kinds of good organic fertilizers on the market in the US and easily found. There are organic soil additives to meet any need out there including supplemental acid. To any and all who read this one sided post please stop watching all those fake advertisements from Scotts and Miracle Gro on TV and learn how to garden organically and successfully. But if you must use this stuff follow the directions on the label, it will tell you how much to use and how often. Do not use too much as you can burn the roots of your plant unlike organic fertilizers which are much much more forgiving and safer for your plants

Last edited:
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country