Tree maintenance during drought

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
10a
Country
United States
Hi everyone,

I live in So Cal and as everyone knows, we have a drought going on with water restrictions. I am fairly new to taking care of trees / plants and while racking the dead leaves I thought it might be best to leave them in the base. This way they can create a shade over the dirt and keep the water from evaporating as fast. Or is it best to clean everything out? I thought about putting down mulch, but I don't want to attract termites.

What are your thoughts?

34qr03l.jpg

n66rzb.jpg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
13b
Country
Philippines
I'm saddened by that news of a waterless California. A first world country like America suffering from lack of water, tsk, tsk. Anyway, that tree may die if not watered properly. In times like that, the men would urinate on the tree so it can have some liquid somehow. This is not a joke. And we also use the water from the laundry. Despite the soap, what the tree needs is the water.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Your thinking is absolutely correct. The leaves will act as a mulch and will help keep the soil cooler and they will also help conserve what little moisture is left. You need a bunch more leaves though. And do not invite all of your friends over for a pee on the tree party. All of that nitrogen will burn the roots

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I agree with you about keeping those leaves there to protect the soil a little from drying up so fast. My sister who lives in Santa Barbara has the same problem, and I am here in Michigan having too much rain. Wish I could send a couple of rainy days to you all!

Reaction score
Country
Kenya