Transplanted sunflower seedlings

Reaction score
image.jpg
image.jpg
Hi all, I am totally new to gardening. This is my first batch of plants, and I want to nurture them and not kill them! My sunflower seedlings are a couple weeks old now, and have so far survived a transplant from the peat pot into the pot. Transplant happened on Thursday. Basically my boyfriend and I just threw a bunch of seeds into the peat pots, and after a bunch germinated we transplanted them, after first set of true leaves, into an 18inch deep pot, with some rocks at the bottom. I used some miracle grow transplant solution on them as well. My question is how should I thin out? I plan on keeping, one in each little corner. Should I try to salvage the other healthy looking seedlings? And also, when is it appropriate to start using compost and fertilizer? I have access to espresso grinds from my job, and I have a carton of egg shells I have been saving! Along with some 14 14 14 osmocote. Finally, the first enclosed picture is of one of the plants that brings concern. some of the stems are purple, and on a few plants the leaves seem a little yellowy and thinner... Might they have a fungus?? Thanks so much for the help!!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States