Too many seedlings!!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
I'm excited to say, I started my seeds indoors this past week for my container herb garden. I planted lemon balm, chamomile, rosemary, sage, lavender, and thyme in one 36 cell seedling flat that has a greenhouse cover. Well yesterday (day 3) my chamomile and thyme seeds have already begun to sprout, and although I'm super excited about this I'm concerned about how many seedlings there are in one tiny starting space. But it also pains me to think I'd have to pull every single one until there's only one..(they're just babies lol) I'm rather new to herb and container growing so forgive me if i sound silly lol
This is my thyme sprouts as of a few hours ago (day4)

I planted wayyyyyyyy too many seeds! They were so small I naively just sprinkled them on the soil and lightly covered..:oops:
this is my chamomile... I did the same thing o_Oo_O

my question is where do I go from here as far as transplanting or thinning out? Do I just pull em up?:cry::cry:

Attachments

• thyme seedlings day 3 2-23-19(2).jpg
    thyme seedlings day 3 2-23-19(2).jpg
    38 KB · Views: 641
  • chamomile seedlings day 3 3-23-19(2).jpg
    chamomile seedlings day 3 3-23-19(2).jpg
    42.3 KB · Views: 411

alp

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United Kingdom
I'm no expert, but you could wait till the seedlings become bigger and then take your pick. We have all been there before. In fact, your photos make me giggle! I remember I spilt a lot of tiny petunia seeds (collected from my own flowers and I had to sow them. Of course, they all germinated and I had the good job of sitting there for 3 hours to transplant them.

I have now come to the conclusion that I sow 5 to 10 and keep the rest for the following year. In fact, I had seeds which germinated after 8 years! All you need to do is to push out the air from the seed packet and fold the the opening tight and they keep for quite a while.