Tomatoes & Nitrogen

Reaction score
I have started a garden in Florida where I retired. I have no experience with growing things in central Florida. I planted tomatoes on March 8. I fertilize with Miracle Grow for Tomatoes. I have huge, bushy, dark green beautiful plants. I do not have lots of buds & only a few tiny tomatoes. My neighbors have less healthy looking plants with lots of tomatoes. Could I be giving them too much nitrogen? If so what fertilizer would you recommend?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
I have started a garden in Florida where I retired. I have no experience with growing things in central Florida. I planted tomatoes on March 8. I fertilize with Miracle Grow for Tomatoes. I have huge, bushy, dark green beautiful plants. I do not have lots of buds & only a few tiny tomatoes. My neighbors have less healthy looking plants with lots of tomatoes. Could I be giving them too much nitrogen? If so what fertilizer would you recommend?
A lot depends on the variety of the tomatoes as to when they bloom and the number of blooms. The nighttime temperature is also important to the plants setting fruit. The optium is between 68 F - 72 F Whether they are determinate or indeterminate is also important. As for fertilizer I do not use chemicals which is what MG is. Chemical fertilizers burn up the organic nutrients in the soil over time and leave salts. After years of using organic fertilizers in my garden I now use very little fertilizer and mostly just add compost. Are you giving them too much nitrogen? No If you were they would not be big beautiful plants. they would be burned

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United Kingdom