Tomato and Cucumber Help

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey everyone, i am new to the site. I am new to growing vegetables, and recently started a 5 gallon bucket garden on my patio. To give you more of a background. I got these white 5 gallon buckets from home depot. Took my drill and put about 15 1/4" holes in the bottom. I then added a 2-3" layer of crushed marble, and then used a 50/50 mix of an dr.earths organic potting soil and dr.earths vegetable garden soil. I planted the tomatoes, zucchini, and the boston pickling cucumber about 3-4 weeks ago, and they have been growing pretty well. The small bush cucumber i planted last week. It has the same setup besides a different soil mix, and it is dr. earths vegetable garden soil and miracle gro potting mix. The one picture of the tomato leaf that is in really bad shape is near the bottom of the plant, but some of the top leafs are starting to show those brown spots.

What do you think is going on?

0Ro8bVW.jpg

nE24QCL.jpg

fIBnSh1.jpg

8odku2F.jpg

b4P7mRU.jpg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5A
Country
Canada
Hey sixspeed, how about filling in some blanks on your profile.

Where are you, in general? Zone?

Then maybe someone can help.

6speed, hmmmm, vette, cts v?

And welcome from a 440-6. .

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi Lori, I live outside of Boston. Couldnt tell you what zone that is. We did just have a little cold spell. Should i bring the plants in at night? You dont think it is an infection of some type?

I will try watering more, and see if they bounce back.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Oh ok, i will hold of on watering for a bit. Is there a specific mositure gauge you would recommend?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Welcome @sixspeed!