Tips to reduce plastic greenhouse ‘flap’

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hello, newbie here to both forum and gardening.

Bit of background, for context and what has already been considered.

I live in an apartment complex and have had mixed success with my balcony plants. They only get an hour or so of direct light, the rest is reflected/ambient.

Despite that, some plants thrived and I was happy - until a single winter storm murdered half of them. I’m talking high winds (brisk to strong is normal, this was close to gale force) and heavy, painfully stinging rain. I often fear over or under watering those that are left as I cannot tell the difference when they start showing stress.

So I bought a greenhouse. Just a small cheap thing, 2m by 1.5m. Made of plastic.

I wanted two things from it. Wind protection without sacrificing what little sun I get, and rain protection so I can water them more confidently. So far, I am cautiously optimistic of the results.

But a wall/roof of the gh ‘ripple’ in strong wind. I’ve secured it from being blown away but I don’t want to be an inconsiderate neighbour and bother people with that irregular sound.

Any tips?

Google has said that I should make it as ‘sealed as possible’ as air getting in and pushing up is the biggest danger & cause. The floor of my balcony is wood, with narrow gaps and under-wood draining. It is definitely a source of air slipping in and out which I originally thought might be a good thing as the gh has no vents. Also, draining for watering.

The gh itself is protected from wind on two sides with just a half meter of the roof and one side exposed to passing wind.

All I can think of are maybe tape strips on the plastic...? Either to stiffen it or to try and make it more taut. I could get some fake grass to put under it? It would muffle airflow - for better and worse - but might also be bad for drainage and disease.

Suggestions welcome.

Reaction score
Country
Australia