This is my first attempt at a garden and I've got a question about aeration.

Reaction score
Country
United States
I've never read or heard of anyone doing it. I wouldn't use perlite necessarily but I could use something. I've got heavy clay soil in Georgia and I've added about 6 inches worth of really black soil I found at my neighbors horse farm last November. It's sat covered with leaves all winter. When I stirred the first bed up last weekend and mixed all the black soil with the red soil I found worms in every shovel full. That soil from my neighbors had more worms in it than I'd ever seen. They all got bigger. I've got 3 4x8 plots all with this same set up. I've not mixed the other 2 yet. I planted carrots, lettuces, peas and spinach.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
What is the question?

I've bought some really "brown" topsoil that was probably 80% clay. Nice looking stuff but it was worser clay than what we have here and did not drain good at all. I could model clay with it, no kidding. It looks like that pot Demi Moore and Patrick Swayze made together in that movie Ghost.

Earthworms like organic material and a damp soil. If the soil drys out, they just go deeper so just because you don't see earthworms all the time doesn't mean your soil is crappy. I would venture to say they came up because the top layer kept the soil wet so they could eat on the black stuff you put down. Tilling in alot of compost is probably your best bet.

Reaction score
Country
United States
What is the question?

I've bought some really "brown" topsoil that was probably 80% clay. Nice looking stuff but it was worser clay than what we have here and did not drain good at all. I could model clay with it, no kidding. It looks like that pot Demi Moore and Patrick Swayze made together in that movie Ghost.