the quest for EOs!

Reaction score
Hi! I have zero experience with gardenIng or even house plants but I decided to go for broke so this year I'm planting myself an herb garden. Our back yard is a very steep and rocky hill and the soil is non-existent but challenge accepted!
I intend to grow lavender, calendula, chamomile, and lemon balm then eventually figure out distilling for essential oils. If you're familiar with these herbs or EOs let's chat it up!

Reaction score
If you have zero experience I would recommend that you start small and with plants that are easy to grow. How many hours a day of sun does that space get. Where do you live? That's very important because of the zone that your plants will be growing in. Try posting a picture of the area that your are going to plant.

Reaction score
I'd recommend you to start with mint, that herb is fairly easy to take care of and it grows rather fast. Plus you can use it to prepare twas and use it in cooking ;) I'd recommend you to start with mind, and then if you feel daring move forward to basil. Do that until you get familiar with those herbs.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
Sounds like your area will be good for those Mediterranean herbs that like dry hot conditions. You will probably have to water like crazy to get plants established the first year if your area is as rocky as you say. Plants like thyme, lavender, and lemon balm are great starter plants. I love calendula, but don't forget nasturtiums. If you start with seeds you might have better luck than starting with nursery started plants. The more a seed (from generation to generation) has been developed in a particular area the stronger better the plants so save those seeds.

Reaction score
What an active community!