The ever elusive morel

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
I have a PHD in handiology
Country
United States
So. When we first moved into this house and I started my job here I knew my time would be limited. Mushroom hunting is something we've enjoyed forever. But I knew I wouldn't have time. So after much reading a few years ago I went with the slurry method and tweaked it a bit.

I dug in a half foot or so and buried some rotten elm branches packed the soil in and dumped the slurry along my fence line. Last year had a few tiny ones pop up and see em growing again. Hopefully they're even bigger this year.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Love morels! I'm curious...can you expand more on your method? Did you start out with some fresh morel spores?

Michigan morel hunting season is fast approaching and I have a very mushroom-friendly property (lots of trees and damp areas.)

Edited to add...growing up my family often foraged for mushrooms. My stepfather actually had a little growing operation under a bed in the spare bedroom. o_O

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
4 to 5 best for success.
Country
United States
my dad was good with mushroom hunting. sadly, never paid attention. he is gone now. I do live just 20 mins from Kennett SQ., PA, mushroom capital of the world. So I get plenty cheap.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
I have a PHD in handiology
Country
United States
10108796.jpg
My hunting property is very fungus friendly and I always find ten to twenty pounds on that 30 acre plot of land. But my brother and I got into a debate a few years ago. He said that morels can not be grown on purpose year after year. Bla bla bla and the urban gardeners on YouTube are full of it. So I set out to prove him wrong.

Like every other living thing, if you give it what it wants it will grow.