Temporary yard

Reaction score
So, we've recently moved into a new (to us) rental with a huge fenced in yard. However, we move a lot and we know for sure that once my husband finishes with school that we'll be moving again, hopefully to somewhere a little more permanent. We have this giant yard now, though and I just really want to garden. I'm a novice for sure, though so I feel like by the time I learned to do anything (and then seasons passing etc), it will be time to move again. I'm guessing we'll be here for two years, give or take a few months. Would you put much effort into it or maybe just use transportable gardening? I really like fairy gardens so I was thinking of making one of those. I'd also like to plant tulips on the edge of the house and then maybe do some edible gardening of some sort.

Thanks for reading.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United States
Even if you leave the garden/gardens behind in a couple of years, you'll take the knowledge gained with you.
Perhaps putting in annual flowers, planting easy vegetables like leaf lettuces, radishes, green beans, and squash would scratch your gardening itch and provide you with both beauty and edibles.

Reaction score
So, we've recently moved into a new (to us) rental with a huge fenced in yard. However, we move a lot and we know for sure that once my husband finishes with school that we'll be moving again, hopefully to somewhere a little more permanent. We have this giant yard now, though and I just really want to garden. I'm a novice for sure, though so I feel like by the time I learned to do anything (and then seasons passing etc), it will be time to move again. I'm guessing we'll be here for two years, give or take a few months. Would you put much effort into it or maybe just use transportable gardening? I really like fairy gardens so I was thinking of making one of those. I'd also like to plant tulips on the edge of the house and then maybe do some edible gardening of some sort.