Sweet Star Amaryllis Care

Sorali

Floral Fledgling
Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello!

I just recently joined this forum (a few minutes ago, actually) because I have a plant that I desperately need help learning to care for. My older sister recently passed away and I was asked by my grandmother and father to care for her funeral flowers. The flowers are labeled as "Sweet Star amaryllis" and have all begun blooming since I received them (it has been one week exactly). These flowers mean a great deal to me and my family, but I don't know the first thing about how to properly care for them... I haven't been able to find much information online about caring for a Sweet Star specifically and I'm not sure if it requires different care from other types of amaryllis plants.

If anyone is able to answer any (or all) of the questions below, I would be super grateful. I am very new to caring for flowering plants, so please don't hesitate to correct me on anything or let me know if better pictures are needed.

Main Questions:
  1. Is the pot big enough for this type of plant? (See picture)
  2. Do I need to prune the plant or cut off any of the flowers at any point?
  3. My father gave me some plant food; is this type of food safe for amaryllis plants? (See picture)
  4. How much/often should I be watering it? I've just been keeping the soil moist because I was afraid of overwatering.
  5. Do you have any other care tips/words of wisdom?

Thank you in advance!

Attachments

• 20230115_094748.jpg
    20230115_094748.jpg
    135.1 KB · Views: 3
  • 20230115_094811.jpg
    20230115_094811.jpg
    129.6 KB · Views: 2
  • 20230115_094728.jpg
    20230115_094728.jpg
    126.5 KB · Views: 2
  • 20230115_094710.jpg
    20230115_094710.jpg
    95.1 KB · Views: 3
  • 20230115_094247.jpg
    20230115_094247.jpg
    181.6 KB · Views: 3
  • 20230115_094821.jpg
    20230115_094821.jpg
    158.6 KB · Views: 2
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom