Sunburned plants - what to do

Reaction score
Hello! We've had some record breaking heat here in SoCal. Super heat like that is uncommon where I am, and it's taken its toll on some of my plants. In particular, boxwood and Peter Pan agapanthus. They're both pretty badly burned. My questions are these . . . can I just shear the agapanthus way back, like almost to the ground? Will it come back in the spring? The leaves are too small and too many to deal with individually. Sort of the same with the boxwood. Can I give it a heavy pruning? I've never done that before. It gets sheared into a small hedge but never pruned. Got ideas for me? Thanks!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello! We've had some record breaking heat here in SoCal. Super heat like that is uncommon where I am, and it's taken its toll on some of my plants. In particular, boxwood and Peter Pan agapanthus. They're both pretty badly burned. My questions are these . . . can I just shear the agapanthus way back, like almost to the ground? Will it come back in the spring? The leaves are too small and too many to deal with individually. Sort of the same with the boxwood. Can I give it a heavy pruning? I've never done that before. It gets sheared into a small hedge but never pruned. Got ideas for me? Thanks!
Are you sure it is sunburn? Just because it is really hot temperature wise does not mean your plants have sunscald. Those plants like bright sunlight. Without pics to see it would be my guess that you have a watering problem or have been using something like Scotts Weed N Feed on your lawn.

Reaction score
With our unprecedented drought, I've been ever so diligent about making sure everything gets enough water. I've even been hand watering my trees! These particular plants are not by a lawn, so I don't think fertilizer would be the problem. Here's a picture, though, if it helps.

Attachments

• IMG_7661.JPG
    IMG_7661.JPG
    196.9 KB · Views: 722
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b