Stumped by my brussel sprout seedlings, no growth and turned purple.

Reaction score
Country
United States
First time EVER posting in a forum!
This is my first time planting brussel sprouts. I live in west Virginia in zone 6. About 6 weeks ago I planted brussel sprout seeds in a container indoors. They germinated, formed first leaves, and then became leggy. I changed container location and adjusted watering but nothing changed, no growth, no new leaves, no death! I decided 3 days ago to place the container outside but now my plants have turned purple (stems and leaves) still only have first leaves no true leaves. Any clue whats going on, or what i have done wrong? I figure my soil my be deficient in something they are needing, I'd love to plant them in the ground but without true leaves is this even an option? Current weather has been up and down 40-60 degree nights and 70-90 degree days. Thanks for any input!

Reaction score
Country
United States
Yes, I did. Although the window i had them in before was the same sunlight they are in now. Basicly moved them from inside in front of window to same spot on outside of window. I figure the direct light prob has been a bit harsher than the light through glass

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
It may be too hot now for them as they are a cool weather crop but that doesn't cause a purple color. Lack of potasium does. Being in a container uses up nutrients much faster than when in the ground.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
Windows (especially new ones) can reduce the UV rays inside a house drastically. If you have a place that will give them mostly shade I would move them there to see if you can save them.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
zone 6b
Country
United States