Starting Up

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
So, I am starting a backyard raised garden ... it's 4'x12'x12in high ... I am a complete beginner, living in north Texas

So far I have the box constructed, with 1/2 in hardware cloth to keep rodents from burrowing underneath and will be putting cardboard on the bottom, on top of the HW cloth (i'm told this attracts worms, which I apparently want). This garden should get about 7 hours of full sunlight per day.

I know I'm late getting started and I will probably only get one crop this year. I plan on raising primarily vegetables.

I plan to fill it to about 10in depth with quality organic soil. At my level of experience(I need simple!), I think it's probably best to go with something pre mixed, and (maybe?) mix in some varied compost with it.

So I've found some packaged soils I'm likely to settle on, which are:
--Miracle-Gro Raised Bed Soil (labeled 100% organic)
--Ecoscraps organic garden soil (orange bag)
--Natures care Organic raised bed soil
--(maybe) mix in some Just Natural organic mushroom compost and/or Happy-Gro 100% organic compost.

Thoughts? Am I on the right track here? If I do mix in some compost, what ratio should I consider? 10%

IMG_1288.JPG

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Hi! :)

Followed through from your intro thread.

I think you're on the right track, except no no no on the Miracle Grow. Or Gro. (I'm of the opinion, if they can't even spell "grow" why should l buy this.) And as I understand, after a few months Miracle Gro is sterile topsoil, and expensive at that.

Mixing in about 10 percent compost is a great idea. Once you plant your veggies, mulch heavily (really you do want to mulch, like 3-6") and by next spring it will have broken down and improved your existing soil greatly. Actually anything organic and plant based, from coffee grounds to vegetable peelings to wood chips and autumn leaves, will make your dirt more awesome. :)