Starting to compost and I have questions

Reaction score
Country
United States
Ahoy everyone! I am brand new to this forum, and I am also fairly new to gardening. My wife and I have just purchased a house that has 1 acre of land, and I am eager to get started with all kinds of gardening projects. One of the first things I plan to set up is a composting system. I was fortunate enough to watch a TED talk with Mike McGrath about composting that was very interesting. Here is the link if you're interested in watching it yourself. Anyway, he makes a very compelling case for using only fallen leaves for compost, and I plan to give it a shot. However, I am curious to know what qualifies as a fallen leaf? For instance, would it be good or bad to include grass clippings from our lawn mower? They are leaves, but obviously not exactly like the leaves he's talking about in the show. Also, what about pulled up weeds and such? I know that grass and weeds are traditionally used in compost, but so are things like kitchen trash which McGrath ruthlessly mocks in his talk. I do plan to have a separate worm farm thing for the kitchen waste and whatever. But I am curious to know just how strict I should be with the "Only leaves in compost" idea described by McGrath. I suppose I could try one chamber of just fallen leaves and then experiment with more stuff in a different chamber. But I am curious to hear people's thoughts before I do anything.

Oh yeah, my setup for compost is one that I stole from a friend. He uses 12 pallets turned up on their side to make 4 square chambers for compost. The pallets are wired to each other, and one of the pallets is removed to open up use on the pile of compost that is ready to go, while the other 3 chambers are open to receive stuff until they are full.

I wasn't sure how important it is to turn the compost over with like a pitchfork or something like that. Also, I am interested in making compost tea once I feel like I've got some good stuff.