Starting my garden

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey guys, my girlfriend and I want to grow some vegetables/herbs/strawberries/catnip/Comfrey Bocking variety. I'm new to growing, but have been handed down a good amount of soil amendments and worm castings. I understand for example blueberries like acid soil, but how should I approach this?

My first thoughts were to dig holes, and fill it with whatever soil recipe necessary. I have worm castings, manure, kelp meal, alfalfa meal, crab shell meal, Neem cake, fish bone meal, oyster shell flour and some other stuff.

Any suggestions? Thanks guys!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8-9
Country
United States
I wouldn't worry about the acidty of your soil. You're probably fine there. Most plants like a range of pH from 5 to 7, and your soil most likely fits into that category just fine. Dig a hole that's about twice the size of the root ball you're going to stick there, loosening the soil to make root growth a bit easier for your new plant, and make sure it gets enough water. You can mix some compost or soil into that if you want but it's not really necessary unless you have hard packed clay heavy soil. Throw some compost on top like once per year (spring) and you'll be fine.

Herbs are a great way to begin. Most are very easy, and you get extremely quick edible results. Berries are my second suggestion. Strawberries are super easy, and if you get a big patch of them you can go outside with a bowl every week and have your fill of strawberries.