Spinach

Reaction score
Country
United States
I would love to plant spinach in my garden next spring/summer. This is my first time planting it and I don’t know anyone else who has done it in the past. I’ve grown lettuce but not spinach. I have several questions before I plant it.

Does anyone have any recommendations for what kind of spinach to grow?

Does it take a lot of room?

What months is best for growing/picking it and when does it typically die out?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Where do you live? Spinach is a cool weather crop. To grow enough spinach to preserve by canning or freezing it takes a lot of it as it cooks down to a small size, so yes it takes up a lot or room. Being a cool weather crop it can withstand light to medium frosts but when the weather turns hot it will rapidly bolt. I grow 2 kinds of spinach, Bloomsdale Longstanding and Noble Giant

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United Kingdom
I grow komatsuna (Japanese spinach) year round. I grow it in my greenhouse in the winter.
It has more texture than regular occidental spinach, which makes it great for salads.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Thanks for the recommendations. I will have to do some more research on the different types. I live in the North East.

You mentioned you are able to preserve spinach for the winter time. Do you freeze it? I am assuming after freezing it you would have to cook it as opposed to eat it raw.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Thanks for the recommendations. I will have to do some more research on the different types. I live in the North East.

You mentioned you are able to preserve spinach for the winter time. Do you freeze it? I am assuming after freezing it you would have to cook it as opposed to eat it raw.