Something is eating our strawberries!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5a
Country
United States
I'm a beginner, but one thing I'm sure of is that I don't want to use chemical pesticides in our garden. How can I protect my strawberries so the kids can enjoy them instead of the bugs? I'm looking for something easy to apply even if it needs to be done multiple times. Am I supposed to be using some sort of barrier between them and the ground?

Thanks.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b/ 8a
Country
United States
If the plants are strong enough they will naturally elevated the strawberries and hide them unde the leaves and off the plant floor. For my young strawberry plants I'll slide some wax paper under the strawberry to encourage them to stay away from the ground. I have a decent bit of success sprinkling diatomaceous diligently on the plants when they are dry. It's a dehydrator that works well on small insects that like strawberries, particularly ants. For larger culprits eating strawberries I got nothing yet. Have three strawberry plants and not a great yield myself this year :(

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5a
Country
United States
Do you know what bugs are causing the damage?

No, I haven't seen them in action yet. Just finding entire berries gone and bites taken from others. The ones that are partially eaten have a "row" removed, as though it moved along eating as it went, if that helps I.D. it at all.