Silver Birch - Is it a branch or root?

silver birch: branch or root?

• It's a branch

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Ray

Reaction score
Hi guys.

I have just moved house to a place with my own garden, so as you can imagine I'm an absolute beginner when it comes to gardening!

I have what looks to be silver birch tree in my garden in which I am having problems telling if there is a large root coming from the tree on ground level or it it's a large branch growing out (such as a deformity) [see links below for pics].

2 questions regarding this:

1) - From your collective knowledge does this look to be a root or a branch from the tree?

2) - If I cut this part of the tree off will this make the tree unsafe or will it kill the tree?

For reference I am wishing to lay down turf around the tree so thus do not want this hazard/ eye sore on show.

Many thanks for your help in advance.

Image 1: http://goo.gl/CZRWjx
Image 2: http://goo.gl/5nlm70

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
Welcome to the forum! (y)

I can't seem to see the second image - it says we need permission?

Looks like it could be a root to me, although it is very big compared with the tree itself! I'd be wary of cutting it off. Is it possible to expose any more to see for sure? You wouldn't expect a branch to grow that big underground. If it is indeed a root, perhaps you could make a feature around the bottom of the tree - put some plants around it to disguise the root?

Hopefully someone else will be able to provide another opinion as I am by no means an expert in this field!

Reaction score
It really does look like a piece of the tree but maybe the birch has roots that look like the tree. I would get an arborist to look at it, usually they will give a free or low cost assessment for something like that.

Ray

Reaction score