Seeking tips for planting a fall garden

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Zone 8b
Country
United States
Greetings and salutations!

I was hoping to get some sage advice from those with more experience than I.

For some weird personal reasons I got a bug to plant a fall garden. The bug didn't bite until mid August so I'm kind of a month or two behind fall garden planting.

I've never done this before so I'm not sure what to expect. Here in in the Willamette Valley we (usually) have relatively mild winters. So I'm hoping I have time to get some stuff planted and get some kind of crop by November. The average date of first frost here is around mid November.

I've tried to select veggies that can handle the cold and will still grow a bit in the autumn. So far I've planted: Broccoli, cauliflower, head cabbage, brussels sprouts, kale, lettuce, collards, radishes, corn salad/mache, beans, beets, peas, carrots, leeks, green onions, bok choy, turnips, rutabagas, parsley, dill, kohlrabi, chard, mustard, and spinach.

I also planted some old cucumber seeds and some basil even though I know they won't survive. I've got seeds for broccoli rabb and Chinese cabbage coming in the mail. I considered celery and celeriac but figured it wouldn't actually grow fast enough for a harvest. I planted some garlic cloves but I think I soaked them to death before putting them in soil and are probably toast.

I've gotten germination from most, but not all of the seeds I put in. No true leaves yet except for a couple of bean seedlings.

The hope is that I get some crops that will mature and survive through Christmas.

So... I'm seeking tips, tricks, advice, etc, if you would be so kind. I have a couple of specific issues that are bugging me but nothing major has come up yet.

Thanks in advance and apologies for the long post.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Zone 8 B 15-20 F -9.4 -6.7c
Country
United Kingdom