Seedling was mysteriously chopped off.

Reaction score
Country
Philippines
Hello guys! I'm new to gardening and have come across something that I couldn't figure out this morning.

I have planted sweet pea and watermelon seeds on pots (to be transferred later to a larger container) 4 days ago and was excited last night that my sweet pea seeds are starting to break out of the soil.

This morning I was happy to see the seedlings to have finally broken out but was shocked to find out that one of my seedling got it's top cut off. Not eaten off, Just cut off. Now I'm fearful for my other seedlings. What do you think could have caused it?

I see some very tiny shiny brown bugs on the soil sometimes or could it be cockroaches?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
USDA Zone 11
Country
Mexico