Salvaging seeds

Reaction score
What's the best way to salvage and store vegetable seeds from this years garden for the next year? Any and all suggestions will be attempted.

Reaction score
I have allowed vegetables to get large (go to seed) till they fall off the vine. I am no expert but I would slice open (for example) squash and allow them to dry in the sun, then later pick out the seeds. I tried this with several types last year and actually had a good rate. I think you need to consider where you live, since I note you are "up north" and it may be a bit drier down here.

zigs

Cactus Grower, Kent.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
Good question Morelogs.

Depends on the types of plants.

Probably not worth saving seed from F1 hybrid plants, as it won't grow true to type.

Peas are easy enough, they generally don't cross with other varieties, I save heritage varieties quite regularly, just let them dry in the pods then store them somewhere mouse proof.

Tomato seeds need fermenting to save them.

Not worth saving Cabbage family unless you've only grown one type, even then, seeds can cross with neighbour's plants, so you could end up with a Purple sprouting kale cauliflower sprout cabbage :D

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United Kingdom
Good question Morelogs.

Probably not worth saving seed from F1 hybrid plants, as it won't grow true to type.

Peas are easy enough, they generally don't cross with other varieties, I save heritage varieties quite regularly, just let them dry in the pods then store them somewhere mouse proof.

Not worth saving Cabbage family unless you've only grown one type, even then, seeds can cross with neighbour's plants, so you could end up with a Purple sprouting kale cauliflower sprout cabbage :D
I have never fermented tomato seeds and usually get close to 100% germination the following spring.

zigs

Cactus Grower, Kent.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom