Rudbeckia & Anemone seeds.

Colin

Retired.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Last year I gathered seeds from Rudbeckia & Anemone plants these being stored in seperate paper envelopes in our very cold extension.

I'd very much appreciate advice and suggestions please how to sow these seeds; I have a shed with south facing window and also a cold frame; I've got lots of new plug trays and plastic plant pots plus potting compost; I'm just unsure what is best; I could simply scatter them in the garden?

The picture below shows the top of the garden I'm trying to prepare for planting; my idea is to have a display of Rudbeckia and Anemone to the rear by the laurels but to plant lots of evergreen ground cover to the front; the soil is absolutely sodden and I hope it dries out to allow being planted? I'm open to any suggestions especially as to ground cover; Alyssum/Aubrieta? This is a big area so would I be better growing from seed or buying plug plants; I'm a novice gardener with a lot to learn.

Kind regards, Colin.

DSC00181.jpg

alp

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United Kingdom
If you have tons of seeds, you can try all methods and write down the results please.

If you prepare a bed well, and sprinkle a bit of coffee grounds or woodash to form small square to stop the slugs or snails feasting on your new seedlings and make sure that you have milk bottles of square tops to protect the seeds, they might germinate once the temperature is up. There is no science in it. Make sure the soil is warm and well watered and then sprinkle seeds and bury them in slightly. You will be amazed by how well they do. They will work as they are fresh and viable seeds. Have a go with the other methods. A man with your intellect will find it easy peasy and fun!

alp

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United Kingdom