Roses in a Hot Climate

Reaction score
I want to grow roses in my tiny garden but not so sure about the weather. Can roses grow in a hot humid weather? There many kinds of roses, can you suggest one that grows in a hot climate like mine? I have a tiny plot that have roses in it but it looks malnourished and the buds gets dry before it even bloom. I am new in gardening and quite unsure of what I am doing so any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Reaction score
We have hot and humid weather for most of the summer in Connecticut and roses do very well here. You don't say where you live so it is difficult to recommend something that would grow well in your climate conditions. Why not Google it or, even better would be to go to a reputable garden center in your area and talk to them? They would certainly know what plants work best in your conditions.

Reaction score
I would very much agree with everything that firelily has already said - especially as I too have grown and still do grow roses in an extremely hot climate - in fact many of the roses that I grow - seem to thrive on the long hours of scorching hot relentless sun that they receive.
Roses are sturdy, dependable and extremely versatile plants with an enormous variety of species to choose from and I too would suggest - that the best option is to take a look at which ones are sold in the garden centers near where you live, as well as which ones are growing in peoples gardens - but saying that you wouldn't go far wrong if you were to chose from some of the Hybrid Tea Rose or Floribunda varieties or even the beautiful Rosa Banksiae which I know for sure will grow in any climate.
Roses are extremely heavy feeders and as you mentioned that your bed looks extremely malnourished - you may also need to consider enriching your soil - in order for your roses to flourish.

Reaction score