Rose Rosette

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi all, new member. I am still learning about gardening, and it seems I have inherited my mom's love of roses. Normally, I'm pretty good with them. However, one of the gardening groups I am in at Facebook pointed out that they think my one knock out rose has rose rosette. I looked it up and then checked the plant, and it appears it may be true. I just planted another one close to it, so I need to cure this because that one has developed it's own problems and doesn't need more.

It is early on in the disease, and from my research I can still save the plant at this point. What I don't know is how much to cut off. Do I just cut off the top and take out the diseased branches, or do I cut the entire plant all the way down to the ground? Also, will doing this have a bad effect of the plant being it isn't the right time of year for this? Thanks for your help!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
Its done IMO as it is a virus that comes from mites. Here is a link. Top Gun is a knock out type that you should find does not suffer the problem should you choose to replace anything. Kill the mites and create as much barrier as reasonable during their season.

Reaction score
Country
United States
How do I kill the mites? I haven't found much info, neem oil apparently doesn't help.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
The bugs bite the plant. This is a tough one. The oils and soaps are an attempt at creating a barrier to the bite. The trick is they cannot be anything that stops oxygen. Thus horticultural oils are concoctions with a base of mineral or vegetable oils such as would also work on your skin.