Root bound Indoor Herbs

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello,

I am new to indoor herb growing. Actually these are the first plants I've managed to keep alive more than a few weeks; sweet basil and sweet mint. The roots have begun growing out of the drainage holes in the pots. This is the second larger pot I've had to move them to. My apartment doesn't have room to keep increasing pot size. Is there any way to safely keep them from growing larger?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
13b
Country
India
Basil will complete it's life cycle in one year or two. So, better be prepared for it collect some seeds. Pruning helps to extent it's life span. When flowers start to mature it dry out.

Same goes for mint, cutting help to grow more branch. You need to tilt and add fertilized to one part of the container at a time, when the plant grow in the tilted side of the container, you should do the same for other half. In this way mint will grow continuously.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United States
Harvest about half of your basil (I'm guessing as to the size of the plant--use your own judgement) and then root prune. Lift the plant out of the pot, cut off the protruding roots, put a bit of fresh soil in the pot's bottom, and replace the plant. This is, of course, assuming you just can't move it to a larger container.
The same works for mint.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Harvest about half of your basil (I'm guessing as to the size of the plant--use your own judgement) and then root prune. Lift the plant out of the pot, cut off the protruding roots, put a bit of fresh soil in the pot's bottom, and replace the plant. This is, of course, assuming you just can't move it to a larger container.
The same works for mint.

I am a very novice plant grower. When you say harvest do you mean just cut off all the leaves or cutoff half the stalks?

Reaction score
Country
United States