Recipe for potting soil

Reaction score
Country
India
Hello everyone,

I am Karan, I live in New Delhi(India) and I am new to gardening. Really new. I am looking for a "universal" recipe for potting soil for all(or almost all) plants other than succulent and the likes.

If possible, keep the number of ingredients low as I am quite tight on budget atm(and I didn't have much luck in gardening yet) but if you think all ingredients are essential, please tell the full! I will gladly listen.

I searched up online and I found dozens of recipes and some contradictory to each other. I am heavily confused. I am hoping some of you experts may be willing to help a newbie.

Thank you.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
1564242426521.png
to the forums @KingKhan. Hopefully we can sort out a nice easy and inexpensive solution for you.

Here in the UK we can just pop into the local garden centre and buy a bag of whatever kind of compost we want. It is all nicely labelled, with a list of ingredients on the bag.... we are spoilt for choice :rolleyes:

Not at all sure of your situation where you are, but if I came there, I think I would first check out the ordinary garden soil in my garden. I believe that a big majority of soil in your country is washed down from the rivers, and has lots of good elements already in it. It would be a good place to start from, and least expensive. Is it heavy soil, or sandy? Is it alkaline or acid?
Whatever you have, it could be added to (or not) to suit whatever plant you want to grow.

Reaction score
Country
India
Thank you for the response.

There are potting soils packs available but they are quite on the expensive side. I plan to have gardening as a long term hobby so I better learn how to make it soon than later.