Received Roses

Reaction score
Country
United States
and it's still cold here in Illinois. I called and asked why they shipped so early and was told could be planted between 30 and 60 degrees. I'm doubtful and so afraid of losing them. I took them from boxes to put in water though read something saying can't leave in water for more than 48 hrs. They each had new growth on them. On one the growth was quite large. Is this unusual or does it mean anything negative? You can tell I'm total newbie at this. Planting many many things as we prepare the farm for a September wedding.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
and it's still cold here in Illinois. I called and asked why they shipped so early and was told could be planted between 30 and 60 degrees.

--By whom? The seller?

I'm doubtful and so afraid of losing them.

--Which roses are they?

I took them from boxes to put in water though read something saying can't leave in water for more than 48 hrs.

--Many land plants and animals could not survive 48 hours under water.

They each had new growth on them. On one the growth was quite large. Is this unusual or does it mean anything negative?

--Growth is generally positive. Except mutant type growths of course.

Do you have pictures?

alp

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United Kingdom
@TimesWastn Roses won't die as long as the roots are well packaged. Some of them are even sent bare root and at a much cheaper price. Some seasoned rose growers won't find it a problem. But some companies do send nasty or even wrong stuff. You could google bare root roses winter care.