Re-Grow Your Food In Water

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I came across this article on how to regrow your food last month, and I was thrilled to know, http://dontwastethecrumbs.com/2015/05/10-foods-regrow-water-alone/

I am experimenting with red leaf lettuce in the water, and growing green onion in a container on the deck. I have been doing green onion this way for many years now. As for the red leaf lettuce, it is growing nicely in just water.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
Wow, that is a neat idea ICyBC, I know that you can get begonnias, and things like that to root out when you put it in water so it stands to reason you would be able to grow other things in water as well. It sounds like a good way to save some work, and also have some good vegetables you can eat. I might try this!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
Poland
I heard about this before and I think that it's a wonderful idea. Some time ago, I planted a few carrot tops. They developed little green leaves, it looked lovely:)

Reaction score
Country
Nigeria
This is new to me and I think it is amazing.

I would give it a try when I have some space around, which I hope will be soon.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Wow, that is a neat idea ICyBC, I know that you can get begonnias, and things like that to root out when you put it in water so it stands to reason you would be able to grow other things in water as well. It sounds like a good way to save some work, and also have some good vegetables you can eat. I might try this!

I bought one bunch of organic green onion, and use the white tops to grow, but I had mine in a containers with dirt. So far I have eaten it twice, just the green though, and they keep on producing.
Here is my red leaf lettuce picture as of yesterday:

Attachments

• IMG_2916.JPG
    IMG_2916.JPG
    140.5 KB · Views: 205
Reaction score
Country
Kenya