Raised Garden Bed Overcrowded

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
This is my first time planting anything and my mom and I decided to put two strawberry plants, four green bean plants, four cucumber plants, three cabbage plants, and a cauliflower plant. Is this overcrowded and what should I do?
20160607_171742.jpg
20160607_171754.jpg
20160607_171742.jpg
20160607_171754.jpg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Just a bit overcrowded. Cabbage and cauliflower should be about at minimum 1 1/2 feet apart. Green beans (bush type) about 6 inches apart. Cucumbers (vining type) about 6 inches with a trellis. And it looks like in the pictures that the soil might be 6 inches deep at the most, when it should be at a minimum a foot.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Yes, overcrowded somewhat. Not sure how successful you'd be at transplanting at this point. Don't worry, it's a mistake almost all of us make at least once! On the up-side, your plants look pretty healthy so far.

I'd build up the soil, add some compost and fertilize a couple of times during the growing season, because those babies are going to suck the nutrients out of your soil pretty quickly.

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Agreed, I'd take the cauliflower out. I have the same problem right now but with peas. I don't know what made me thing I could put in everything I did and now my peas are getting out of control and completely covering the onions. The carrots are pretty much doing the same thing to the carrots from the other side, it's a disaster. Not really but I have to get something to raise my peas a bit so they don't go any crazier than they are. I have a railing pot with just peas in it and they're overcrowding themselves.

Reaction score
Country
United States