Question about strawberries

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am new to gardening.

I planted some seeds in my yard about two weeks ago (I know it is late in the season; I got a late start). Some things (e.g. beans) began to sprout up. But the strawberry seeds have not. They are Mignonette Apline strawberries.

I also planted some in the little tiny pots/containers for planting seeds (to be transferred to yard or bigger pot later).

None have sprouted yet.

I read somewhere that strawberry seeds need to be kept in freezer for several weeks prior to planting. Does that apply to pre-packaged seeds too? If so, how long do they need to be in freezer? And will they not grow at all if I take them out (of freezer) too early?

I also got some store-bought organic strawberries at the supermarket. Would I be able to plant those now or do they need freezing?

I'm sorry for the silly questions. I am new to this.

Thank you.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Strawberries must have what is called stratification or a chilling period. The chilling period for strawberries is about 4 weeks at close to 40F in a damp environment. Most folks use the bottom of a refrigerator. I have never seen packaged seeds that didn't need stratification. I have never planted a fresh strawberry but I doubt it would germinate

Last edited:
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have never planted a fresh strawberry but I doubt it would germinate
I have done it with alpine strawberries. I don't see why not with store bought. I just flattened the little alpines, but I'd scrape the seeds off the outside of the big ones and lay them on the surface. I don't know how true they would come to the parent, most are hybrids of some sort.

Reaction score
Country
United States