Purple potatoes and laundry baskets

Reaction score
I was looking at a Burpee catalog and my son decided I needed to buy purple potato sets for our garden this year. Simultaneously my mother told me about using a cheap laundry basket plant potatoes in by adding soil at the bottom then adding straw over the top of the plants as they grow until you end up with a basket of potatoes.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
They taste mostly the same but all the different colors really look pretty .I have been growing all the colors for 15 years or more .New small potato's are the best

Reaction score
I would love to have some purple potatoes.. we don't have them here. I have been thinking about ordering some purple tomato seeds from a site I have been following. I really wish I had more space to experiment with these plants.

Reaction score
Wow, thanks for that link. I am already learning so much from reading this forum. I would love to plant my own potatoes, especially red and purple ones. They would look so pretty in all of my dishes, and I think they would taste so much better just because I knew that I planted and grew them. I really like the idea of planting them in a laundry basket...that is so neat! Let me know if you try it...I would LOVE to see how that works out. According to that link, you can start potatoes as late as August, but I'd love to start them much sooner than that...like this weekend, hopefully. :)

Jed

Reaction score
I grow a purple skin variety. Locally they are called Blue Tartans. I googled it and it appears it's a Scottish potato called a Edzell Blue. Their flesh is still a white colour. I've always wondered about the purple colour with vegetables. They may be more frost and insect hardy.

images

Reaction score