Pumpkins and Bone Meal

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi, I am relatively new to gardening and have been growing pumpkins. I started using bone meal as several of my pumpkins are right at the flowering stage and I read that this would be a good time to add bone meal to encourage the flower growth which needs phosphorus to help with that. My question is: once my pumpkins fruit and I harvest them, will they be safe to eat? I’ve read several articles about the dangers of bone meal and I don’t know how accurate those articles are, but I don’t want to consume my pumpkins if they are in danger of being contaminated or something by the bone meal, thanks to anyone who can offer advice!

Reaction score
Country
United States
A quick search brings up an article about the possibility of bone meal being contaminated with Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy (A.K.A. Mad Cow Disease), but there doesn't seem to be too much data showing actual risk.

Of course, it is important to remember that eating a plant nourished by fertilizer is very different than directly consuming the fertilizer. Most or all fertilizers, including ones certified for organic use, should not be directly consumed.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
A quick search brings up an article about the possibility of bone meal being contaminated with Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy (A.K.A. Mad Cow Disease), but there doesn't seem to be too much data showing actual risk.

Of course, it is important to remember that eating a plant nourished by fertilizer is very different than directly consuming the fertilizer. Most or all fertilizers, including ones certified for organic use, should not be directly consumed.

I just scared myself. The longer term implications are stunning.