Potted mint - will it survive winter?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Hello all.

I have some chocolate mint in a 6 inch or so diameter pot that is currently on my front porch that I transplanted from a field where it grows abundantly. I'd like to keep it through the winter, but cannot bring it inside due to poor lighting through my windows and more importantly, cats that strive to eat any living plant I bring inside the house. Will the mint survive in the pot through the winter?

I know it is pretty hardy in the ground, and because I live in a rental property, I am hesitant to just plant it in the yard. Would keeping some straw at the base help to insulate it? I live in upstate NY and we have already had a few below freezing nights, once with frost even, and so far it seems to be pretty healthy.

I'm fairly new to gardening and have been experimenting with a few different plants this year, and the mint has been a real success, and as such I'd like to keep it without having to transplant again.

Reaction score
I think it should be fine throughout the winter, but this is only going from my personal experience. I have so much mint in my backyard and it tends to stay throughout the entire year. My mint has survived through the harshest weather, so it wouldn't surprise me if you go without issue during the winter.

I want to say that putting the straw may help a bit. It should remain healthy with or without, but it doesn't hurt to try. :)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
13b
Country
Philippines
I'm not sure if this is correct because we have no winter here. Mint is a sturdy plant and our mint that is thriving in the planter box is not delicate albeit it is very prolific even when not given attention. For occasions, we would plant mint in a small plastic pot for decorating the buffet table. Sometimes that small pot of mint would stay indoors for weeks. So I guess mint can be indoors during winter. But when it looks pale, put it out for sunning even for half an hour.