Possible to have an indoor garden all year round?

Reaction score
I've only just gotten into gardening, like the beginning of this year, and i really wanna plant some new stuff asap, i don't wanna wait until february!
I planted a kiwi tree a couple weeks ago in memory of my bird, and 2 days ago, i saw that it had sprouted, so i was thinking, wouldn't it be possible to start growing some broccoli, asparagus and kale now and just keep them by the window?
Or would it be pointless and a waste of time/money?

Reaction score
I am attempting to grow some things infoors this winter but I don't have a lot of space so it's going to be limited to leaf lettuce, spinach, green onions, and herbs. The big issues with growing indoors seem like they'd be temperature and pollination; I keep the area where my grow lights are relatively cool in the winter so I don't think warm-weather crops would do well, and I don't want to get into anything I have to hand-pollinate when I'm just starting out. But a salad garden seems ideal for the space I have.

I'm not sure how well asparagus specifically would do indoors. It is perennial, and many perennial plants need the winter chill as much as they need the summer sun.

Reaction score
Ah right. I guess i could try some green onions too, i really wanna grow something, all my plants have gone to seed already, so it's looking kinda boring and empty on the balcony.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Some things grow well indoors and some do not. In the case of the edible plants that you mentioned, you need varieties that are suited for container growing and you need to provide them with the right amount of light, moisture, and humidity/air temperature. Sitting them by the window won't do it; some things will be okay for a while, and some things will grow a bit, but in order to get optimum results you have to recreate the conditions needed by those plants.

Reaction score