Pomegranate trees

Reaction score
Country
Philippines
Hello.

I would like to ask everyone for some tips or ideas about my problem.
We have a pomegranate tree, planted around four years now. It bears fruits, so we thought that we are providing it enough fertilizer and water. We waited until the fruits looked ripe for picking but before it even ripens, it sort of "explodes".
The fruits are about the size of a baseball; we took one and tried it and it was really sour so we assumed it is still not ripe.

I am new with gardening fruit-bearing trees and I am not sure which element should I consider varying to make our tree bear edible fruits.

Thank you in advance.

P.S.
I don't have photos with me right now but I will post it here as soon as I get my hands on them.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
13b
Country
Philippines
This reminds me of our pomegranate plant that is the decorative variety. It bore fruits as small as pingpong balls and when ripened, the seeds are white and dry, no juice at all. After 10 years of staying in the planter box in our front yard, that pomegranate plant suddenly withered and died. My husband said that it may be too old already - it was already there when we moved in to this house in 2001.

Reaction score
Country
Philippines
Ah, so there's that variety. Ours, however, grew up to an acceptable size (I think), and the seeds have juice. I was thinking maybe we need to change the fertilizer we are using. I hope it doesn't die, though.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello.

I would like to ask everyone for some tips or ideas about my problem.
We have a pomegranate tree, planted around four years now. It bears fruits, so we thought that we are providing it enough fertilizer and water. We waited until the fruits looked ripe for picking but before it even ripens, it sort of "explodes".
The fruits are about the size of a baseball; we took one and tried it and it was really sour so we assumed it is still not ripe.