Country
United States
IMG_0241.JPG
IMG_0242.JPG
IMG_0239.JPG
IMG_0240.JPG
IMG_0238.JPG
IMG_0237.JPG
I am new to gardening. Everything appeared to be going great then, out of nowwhere, some sort of fungus or mold started growing in my raised bed and on my plants. Please help me

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
You have a fungus my friend! It probably came from the nursery with the fungus already hitching a ride. Unfortunately, this issue is common, especially in tomato and squash plants, and is the result of overly moist growing conditions and a systemic infestation early in development. It may be too far gone but you can try a fungicide. If you're trying to go organic look for a product called liquid Copper fungicide at your local Home Depot or Lowes. Good luck to you!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
You have a fungus my friend! It probably came from the nursery with the fungus already hitching a ride. Unfortunately, this issue is common, especially in tomato and squash plants, and is the result of overly moist growing conditions and a systemic infestation early in development. It may be too far gone but you can try a fungicide. If you're trying to go organic look for a product called liquid Copper fungicide at your local Home Depot or Lowes. Good luck to you!
What do you think, could this be what it is?
Stemonitis sp.
This myxogastria is of the genus stemonitis, which can be found in most parts of the world. The fruiting bodies here are a typical sporangia formation with a brown, spore-producing head. The feathery appearance is misleading; the sporangium resemble, under magnification, smooth stalks. The plasmodium of this species is composed of a network of fine, transparent strands. It lives generally on rotten wood, and fruits in May through October.

http://www.messiah.edu/Oakes/fungi_on_wood/club and coral/species pages/Stemonitis.htm

alp

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United Kingdom