Planning a greenhouse before spring..

Rey

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6B
Country
United States
So.. I am really new to this but I like challenges. I am planning to get a metal / glass greenhouse and I came across Halls Supreme.. https://greenhouses.com/halls-supreme/p/63918/100392

I really like the design and material but unfortunately it is not available here in the USA. So I settle with this..
http://www.greenhousemegastore.com/product/winter-gardenz-glass-greenhouse-6-wide/glass-greenhouses

I dont intend to use it on winter for my cactus and succulents. I just need a good place for my cacti so they got get soak in the rain. I do like to put my succulents during fall to bring their good stress colors.
I have a yard for it but I am planning what would be the best flooring? Can I just lay stone slabs over grass? Thanks

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
@Rey Welcome to the world of greenhouses! That Hall's is a nice looking greenhouse. Too bad it is not available in the States. May I make a suggestion. Instead of glass, go with a double or triple wall polycarbonate. While glass makes a beautiful looking greenhouse, it can easily break, even though it is tempered. It has a poor thermal efficiency, and there is a greater potential for having your plants burned because of it's clarity...more so than if you just had the plants outside. Polycarb has a better thermal efficiency, is many times stronger than glass (almost unbreakable unless you take a hammer to it), produces a diffused light which helps prevent burning or scorching of plants. Of course, if you are buying glass so you can admire your plants from outside the greenhouse, too, then I guess double or triple wall polycarbonate is off the short list.

Are you a fan of that onion-shaped greenhouse? If so, there are others on the American market that are made in that shape. The onion shape is very good in the wind, and tends to get little snow build up because of it's shape.